Summer’s over.

Well, looks like Summer’s over up here.  The days are getting shorter, the leaves are starting to change, it’s getting cooler, and there’s an impending sense of fear that it could start snowing at any second.  Don’t get me wrong, snow’s OK, it’s just that this Summer was far and above the one before it.  Or as I like to call it, “the Summer that never was.”  Looking back over all the saddle time I accrued over the season, I realize that not nearly enough of it came from commuting.  It’s a relatively simple 4 mile ride door to door, but for some reason I valued the 15 extra minutes of sleep or the convenience of the car over a relaxing ride to work.  Last year, I lived twice as far away, but commuted twice as many days.  I think it’s because there’s really not much to see on my current route besides the occasional homeless guy sleeping on a bench, broken glass, construction, inattentive motorists, and sometimes other cyclists.  Before, my route took me through almost half of the Campbell Creek trail and up Rabbit Creek road (or down if I was going to work).  I guess proximity to work isn’t as important as the quality of the commute.

Along with the changing of the leaves, comes the beginning of another ‘cross season.  If you’re around APU Wednesday at 6:30 (September 2nd), be sure to check out the Cyclocross Clinic at the Moseley Sports Center.  It’s a great way to learn the rudimentary cyclocross skills like dismounting, mounting, barriers, etc.  And best of all, it’s free!  So like any free clinic, you’re sure learn something, and some of you might walk outta there with an ache in your nether parts.  I sure hope to be there!  I’m hoping to learn how to do this:

Bang pow!

Bang pow!

Or possibly this:

But knowing me, I’ll more than likely do this:

Epic faceplants or not, it should be a good time.

-Yrjo

Might have posted this one already, but if not….here you go.

2 Comments »

  1. sean said

    the wallens kick is definitely a critical move in all disciplines of cycling. it’s on par with the mcewan head butt.

  2. Tim said

    No cyclocross for me, but I just spent part of the afternoon getting the Pugsley ready for the arrival of snow. The best part was that the sun was uncomfortably hot as I washed the bike out the driveway.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

