My First Product Review!

There’s nothing more exciting than getting a package in the mail with your name on it (unless it’s a pipe bomb- well, that’s exciting too).  Today, I got a package from my friend Nick Huemmer all the way from Evanston, Illinois (and it wasn’t a pipe bomb) containing a bottle of El Duke biodegradeable and non-toxic degreaser.  Right away I was a bit ambivalent, since I’m a Tar Heel fan; plus, I never really liked Orlando Hernandez just because he played for the Yankees.  But all polemics aside, let’s see what we have, shall we?

Not a pipe bomb.  Alright!

Not a pipe bomb. Sweet!

As you can see, Nick is a shrewd enough businessman to know that dirtbag cyclists really like free shit.  He didn’t disappont:

No mysterious white powder either.

No mysterious white powder either.

The first thing I figured I’d test was the biodegradeable and non-toxic aspect of the product.  Well, I stared at the bottle for a while and it didn’t deteriorate, so the jury’s still out on that.  Also, I couldn’t find anyone willing to taste the product in spite of its very light, non-offending odor.  That would have to wait too, so it was time to put this stuff through its paces.  I started out by putting on the t-shirt, which was made by American Apparel in the good ol’ US of A (good on ya Nick).  Not to turn this into a clothing review, but the shirt was rather comfortable.  Ok, here’s some pictures of the bike before:

010

011

013

I’m ashamed my bike ever got that dirty, but it’s all in the name of science.  The first thing I noticed when I opened the bottle was the smell, or rather the lack of.  It wasn’t at all unpleasant.  In fact, you really couldn’t smell it unless you poured it in a rag and huffed it…ahem.  Anyway, the second thing I noticed is that I had spilled some of it on the floor.  No big deal, since it was about to get messier. 

Generally when I clean a drivetrain, I’ll just use a bunch of old rags and just go to town.  The El Duke degreaser cut the time that would have taken in half- easily.  Here’s some pictures during:

Getting there...

Getting there...

Oops.  Better not let the wife see that...

Oops. Better not let the wife see that...

Ta da!

Ta da!

So it seemed to be working well enough.  Once I got done cleaning the drivetrain, I put the degreaser to the handwash test which it passed easily.  It’s probably the first time I’ve seen degreaser lather up somewhat, which got me thinking.  What if I dilute some in a bucket of hot water and use it to wash the bike?  Brilliant!  Check out the results:

El Duke totally made that cassette his bitch.

El Duke totally made that cassette his bitch.

020

Why, it even turned that yellow tire blue!

Gorgeous!

Gorgeous!

So there you have it, a produt that does exactly what it says on the bottle- and then some (still haven’t tested the non-toxicity part yet).  My only nit pick would be to have a smaller opening on the bottle so you could drip it if you needed to and not spill so much.  But really, that’s a very small nit to pick for a product that works so well.  If you’re looking for a good degreaser and don’t want to use kerosene or other toxic fluids, El Duke is the stuff!

You know, after all that hard work, it’s a shame I’m racing that bike in the rain tomorrow.

-Yrjo

I’m not able to embed this video, but the link is clickable one way or another.

8 Comments »

  1. Tim Kelly said

    Did you use it on the chain, and how well did it do that job? I’ve been using a couple different types of non-toxic, biodegradable orange cleaners that you can buy at Carrs or Freddies, or wherever. I’m very pleased with the result.

    • akmoots said

      I used it everywhere! Even used it on the floor after I was done cleaning the bike. It worked great on the chain. Ideally, if you had a master link, it would be easier to put the chain in a container with the degreaser and shake it around, but the “rag and backspin” method worked well with it too.

  2. Tim said

    Too bad some other Alaska bike bloggers didn’t get a freebie package! You guys on the fancy Moots bikes have all the good connections!

    • akmoots said

      You’re more than welcome to borrow some! There’s plenty left.

      • Tim Kelly said

        Meet me Saturday at Cooper Landing Trailhead around 1pm and at Devils Pass Trailhead around 5pm and we should be able to perform the ultimate test after really gunking things up on the Soggy Bottom 100 coarse (pun intended).

  3. FISH said

    We should get sponsored by them.

  4. Debbie said

    I’m officially embarassed that my bike lives in such a state of filth that I didn’t recognize the “dirty” pictures as actually being dirty….till I saw the clean ones. I need a better bike bitch.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

