Long Time No See!

How long has it been anyway?  I figured a nice break from excessive Facebooking, blogging, Tweeting, and whatever else-ing might do some good and get my brain back in gear.  Boy was I wrong.  It’s even more convoluted than usual, and now I have to try and sort it out and type it with my two index fingers on this here blog.  So, let’s catch up shall we?

Rumor has it, there was some race over in France.  Now, I know this is the good ol’ U S of A and we all like our comeback stories, but I couldn’t be happier that Contador won.  Especially after reading this little bit of typical Armstrongian dickery.  I’m sure Versus was there with Craig Hummer giving a play by play of his drink selection.  Sycophants.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the Tour, but this year was more like the “Tour meh France.”  Too damn predictable.  The only thing I looked forward too was Cavendish’s victory salutes after making Hushovd his bitch- SIX TIMES!  He even rolled out a commemorative wheelset for the occasion.

haters

I hear he’s making this easily customizable wheel available to everyone with a cadre of haters.  Quantity of said balls can be adjusted accordingly.  -1 for Lance (All You Haters Suck My Ball), +6 for Jens Voigt.

Speaking of balls, my friend Tim over at Bicycles and Icicles had the audacity to criticize the design of our roundabouts in arguably the best planned roads on the planet.  I mean, really, why in the hell should these engineers be bothered to keep cyclists in mind?  God forbid we impede the flow of the almighty automobile.  Seriously though, my only regret is that I don’t have more hands to give that post four thumbs up.  What’s really funny is the shit-storm that brewed when ADN took it upon itself to link to the post in the newsreader.  You thought comment threads were bad before?  Holy crap!  In spite of all this, I would still rather take my chances here than in Charlotte.

The Soggy Bottom 100 is right around the corner, but regretfully, I will be putting this one off until next year.  The Tour of Anchorage is only a week and a half after that, and I doubt I would have recovered in time if the 24 hour race was any indication.  Nonetheless, here’s the flyer:

[SB+100+09.jpg]

If that bit of of masterful artwork is any indication, the race is certain to be radtacular to say the least.  I don’t even have the sack to start.  Me and the Moots will be there next year, friends!  I’ll even be sporting the “All You Ballers Hate My Suck” wheelset.

I was asked by the 3 people who read my blog when I would post again.  One even suggested I post about the recent exercise in masochism I like to call the Glen Alps Hill Climb.  Not a bad idea, really.  Actually my friend TB made a nice little video of the course, but I’ll try my best to explain it in words.  It climbs somewhere around 2500 feet in around 9 miles with some crazy grades (17% or so) thrown in the mix.  I wish I had some GPS data to show you, but the only way I can describe it is “damn hard.”  This one probably ties with my Arctic Valley single speed hill climb in terms of difficulty.  Still lots of fun though.  It helped having all the volunteers and racers who already finished cheering everyone else on. 

Finally, I signed up for the National MS Society’s “Carolinas Biketober Challenge” today.  And being a fundraising ride, I need to raise funds.  If you’re so inclined, you can make a donation here.  I’m pretty sure it’s tax-deductible.  I know, it’s kinda douchey to hit you guys up for money on my blog, but it’s for a great cause. 

Anyway, it’s nice to be back in the blogging chair hammering away at the keys again.  Hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it.  See you next time!

-Yrjo

Leave a Reply

