Recovery

The soreness is subsiding, the feeling is coming back in my toes, and I can finally squeeze my left hand into a fist again.  The chaffing?  Meh.  Bugbites?  Almost gone, as is some of the bruising.  I even managed to spin on the trainer for a bit just to get the legs moving again.  Thanks everyone for the pats on the back and the attaboys.  Here’s my friend Julie’s take on the race.  There’s also an article about the 24 hour race at ADN.  Not sure if you have to subscribe or anything, but the link worked for me, I promise.

Originally I had planned on doing the Fireweed 100 road race, but I think I’m going to skip that just to get some long solo miles (again) before the Soggy Bottom 100 Mountain Bike Race and the Tour of Anchorage (with some shorter races before that just for flavor).  Perhaps I’m being overly ambitious by taking on these two races within 2 weeks of each other…or not.  We’ll see. 

Also, in a previous post, I mentioned wanting to sell a certain bike.  Well…my friends convinced me that it probably wouldn’t be such a good idea.  Especially not if I was planning to do it all over again next year.  It seems a fully rigid single speed 29er was perfect for the course.  It was for me at least.  So the bike is off the market for now. 

Yep, she done me right.

Yep, she done me right.

At any rate, I’ll be keeping you all up to date as usual!

-Yrjo

Leave a Reply

