Fridays are like Mondays, except they come at the end of the week and don’t suck ass.

Happy Friday everybody!  Seems like it took all week to get here!  As some of you (or none of you) know, I’ve spent the better part of the week trying to find another route to and from work with little success.  So far, I’ve found some routes that include climbing over boulders under a highway, dodging buses and construction signs, dodging homeless guys, and dodging strip-club patrons.  Really, all I want is to not cross 80 intersections on my way to and from work.  Today, I took the Campell Creek Trail(s), which “officially” stops at the Seward Highway, and continues 100 yards or so after that.  If you can, picture a tall, clumsy guy with a backpack and a ‘cross bike trying to pick his way through rocks while still trying to keep his feet dry and his dignity intact.  It doesn’t help that the bridge is about 5 feet above the ground (or so it would seem).  Apparently we can build a pipeline that runs the length of the state, but we can’t connect two halves of the same damn trail.  And the icing on the cake is a complaint I had before.  I even included a nice little picture of the offending maneuver (or manoeuvre, if you prefer):

                                                                          Right Hook

Ok, now picture the same car at the exact same intersection.  Then, put some blue and red lights on top and a searchlight on the drivers side.  OK, next paint in big letters on the side “Anchorage Police.”  Guess I can’t be too mad at Anchorage drivers for doing the same thing.  After all, I’ve seen this on more than one occasion too:

I know, this runs completely counter to my last post.  Whatever.  See?  I’m over it already!

Saturday looks like a good one.  A couple hours on the mountain bike, getting all my gear together for the 24, and hanging out with the family.  I might even make it out to the range on Father’s Day to squeeze off a few rounds at some paper and maybe shatter some clay while I’m there…who knows.  All I can say is, it’s the weekend.  Do what you do!

-Yrjo

2 Comments »

  1. Gina said

    Yrjo,

    I find this post riotous. Especially enjoyable is the picture of the manuever at the intersection. I always wondered if cyclists and motorists could ride in harmony and after riding downtown in Seattle yesterday, it’s clear to me now that it can be done. After three hours I breathed a sigh of relief when I realized that not one person flipped me off, told me to go fuck myself, ran me off the road, threw something at me, or ran over my foot at an intersection. Of course, in Seattle, along the sides of all road, they’ve painted a picture of a bicycle. And although there might not be extra pavement for a bike lane, it certainly gives the impression to cyclists and motorists alike that bicycles do indeed belong there. It’s great! I’ve never been so happy and comfortable riding in traffic before.
    Good luck finding a route to work!
    Gina

  2. The Grouch said

    Be careful when crossing under the bridge. I’ve seen some shady characters there. Including myself and Julie. 🙂

    It is still the best route I’ve found. Unless I’m wearing my fancy, carbon soled road biking shoes. Don’t try it, it ain’t pretty.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

