New Beginnings

Those of you who have read my blog previously (you know where to find it, if you don’t, you can figure it out), may have noticed there’s a new game in town.  Here’s the story:  After going on a great hunting / camping trip this past weekend, I come home ready to blog and find out that my “regular” site has been surreptitiously commandeered by its owner.  Well, it’s not really my site, I was just “leasing” it.  But I sincerely hope that all my work was archived instead of just deleted.  No worries.  Like I said, it’s not my site, and the owner can pretty much do what he wants with it.  I wish him well with his new blog and hope he can post more frequently than I did.  We’re after quantity, not quality after all.  I seriously have no hard feelings, and I’m sure there was no ill will intended.  It just seemed, well, abrupt.  That’s life I guess.  A quick note, I never say “it is what it is.”  I find that to be trite and defeatist.  Rather, “it is what you accept it to be.”  Instead of just accepting it, I started all over.  Hence, the new blog.  It’s kind of refreshing actually.  Not that I ever felt constrained, but I always knew in the back of my mind that I was representing someone’s business.  So yeah, I felt like I had to occasionally self-censor. 

On a lighter note, the first mountain bike race of the season is tomorrow, and I figured I’d give it a shot.  We’ve already been racing on the road for about a month now, and I actually seem to be enjoying some success.  Enough, in fact, that for the first time in recorded history someone called me a sand-bagger.  I’m a bit torn though.  Looking at the results, I’m either top of the heap (or very close to it) in Sport, or I’d be at the very bottom in Expert.  Maybe after enough derision I’ll make the leap, but until then I’ll keep having fun where I am.  If it’s any consolation to the other Sport racers, I’m eschewing a number of shorter races to get more saddle time on the mountain bike.  I’m getting ready for my first solo 24-hour mountain bike race.  I’ll fill you in with the details as they come in.  But for now, it’s just a lot of chaffing and sore legs.

To my regular readers, thanks for following me to the new site.  And to my new readers, welcome!

Until next time!

Yrjo

4 Comments »

  1. doug said

    great first post! good luck w/ the new blog – i’ll be sure to follow!

  2. Victoria said

    Happily following you through the blogesphere…

  3. J said

    And all this time I thought it was just me. Looking forward to your wit and wisdom…

  4. oneslowsb said

    Whatcha doin’ here, ‘Yo?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

